Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 19th, 2008

Knitting on my Beach Vacation

Knitting with a view :)

Actually, there wasn’t a whole lot of knitting, but there was a lot of beach and beer :)

About 6 months ago (while a whole lot of snow was falling outside my window in Alaska) I thought up the fabulous idea of renting a little beach house with friends when we got home to San Diego. Joe’s best friend since junior high, Cameron, and my friend Megan chipped in and we all rented a 1 bedroom apartment next to the ocean for five days.

My typical day consisted of waking up late and having breakfast and coffee while looking out over the water, then getting sunscreened up and hitting the beach for a few hours. I would lie on my towel and listen to my audiobook (currently “reading” A Beautiful Mind by Sylvia Nasar). Then I’d come home, have some lunch and knit for awhile until someone suggested playing a game or going out for a walk or a bike ride or something :) Then we would proceed to stay up way past our bedtimes. All in all, much fun was had.

Megan and me looking cute on our free bikes – included with the rental – woo!

Cam and Joe – partners in mischief and smart conversations in general

Me and Joe during a game of Settlers of Catan – aka the best game ever.

We did, however, overestimate the amount of alcohol we thought we could consume in 5 days. We bought three cases of beer for four people. We ended up drinking half of them! 36 beers were left over. I guess our binge drinking days are over hehe. Well, mine anyway! I was pushing it drinking 2 or 3 per day. Lightweight = me :) But we did find one excellent solution for consuming the beers in a timely manner and that was BEER BREAD. Yum. Try it. I’ll get the recipe up here soon. We made it with both Heineken and Corona (with lime!) but the Heineken was way better. It’s totally easy and tastes fantastic. Definitely not a diet bread though.

But back to knitting. I finished the back of the sweater I’m working on — I’m making the Basketweave Pullover from the Best of Interweave Knits (Ravelry links). I don’t have pictures yet because I’m afraid the recipient reads this blog. Next week when it’s out of my hands I’ll post so many pictures your eyes may fall out of your heads…. Ok. That’s exaggerating — but I’ve been wanting to post about my secret projects for SO LONG. Darn me for picking BIG and time consuming secret projects.

I’m really loving how the pullover is turning out. The stitch pattern is scrumptious to feel and it’ll be very warm. But I’ve never made a sweater this big, so it feels like I’m making a blanket. Actually, a blanket in this stitch pattern would be amazing (in my head I’m pronouncing it Uh – MAAAAY – zing). I’ll definitely need a break from the basketweave pattern after this though – that’s a lot of repeats and a bit of counting. This project is a little high maintenance for me. ;) I’ll just have to reward myself with beer bread. That oughta do it.

Does this look funny to you?
Laptop central. I didn’t get one. So I played with the camera :)

Eat. KNIT. Run. BLOG.

Read Full Post »